Senate Library Committee Minutes of the Meeting on February 27, 2023

Guests:

Mark Jordan

Ebony Magnus

Melinda Skura

Mar González Palacios

Present: Gwen Bird

Hugo Cardoso Jeff Derksen Priyanka Dhesa

Elizabeth Elle Michael Everton Kate Elliott Natalie Gick Yolanda Koscielski

Danny Leznoff
John Maxwell
Dugan O'Neil (Chair)
Geoffrey Poitras

Susie Smith (Recording Secretary)

Ljiljana Trajkovic Vance Williams

Absent: David Kloepfer

Judit Nagy Judy Smith

D. O'Neil welcomed Ebony Magnus and Mar González Palacios, the two new Associate Deans of Libraries to the committee meeting. Introductions were made around the table.

1. Approval of the Agenda

Approved and adopted.

2. Approval of June 13, 2022 Minutes

Moved by Danny Leznoff. Seconded by Hugo Cardoso. Approved.

3. Business Arising from the minutes

New Central Copyright Clearance Fund (Gwen Bird) – The University had set aside funds to pay for the Access Copyright "interim tariff" fees owing once the tariff was finally approved. The amount owing under the interim tariff was finally fully paid in 2022 and the University agreed that the remainder of the set aside money should be used to fund the Central Copyright Clearance Fund

4. Chair's Report (Dugan O'Neil)

D.O'Neil advised that the budget is tight across the univ