GOVERNANCE

Serate

Senate is responsible for the academic governance of the University and so it must be concerned with all the important matters that bear on teaching and research in the University. The development of new initiatives, the formation of priorities, and the consideration and approval of policies are vested in the Senate. Senate's agenda should be open for informed debate of issues of significance for the whole University.

Senate has 68 members including the Chancellor, the **Bret**si2Vice-Presidents the Faculty Deans, the Deah Graduate Studies, the Dean of Lifelong Learning the University Librarian, 32 elected faculty members, 16 elected students, and individuals elected by Convocation.

Senate meets monthly on Monday evening **5**:**a**0 pm or **7**:00 pm The Open Session portion of the meeting isopen to the public.

Information about Senate a21.3 ()]TJ 0rme (a)3.6 (t(a)3.5 (am)21.30.004 Tc -0.006

IaTHeala

Business Administration Business Administration Communication, Art & Tech Communication, Art & Tech Education Education Environment Environment Health Sciences Health Sciences Science Science Joint Faculty (16)** Applied Sciences Applied Sciences Arts & Social Sciences Arts & Social Sciences Arts & Social Sciences **Business Administration Business Administration** Communication, Art & Tech Education Environment Health Sciences Science Science Science

Student Members (16)*** FAS - Undergraduate FAS - Undergraduate FASS - Undergraduate FASS - Undergraduate

BUS - Graduate BUS - Graduate BUS - Undergraduate FCAT- Undergraduate EDUC - Graduate EDUC - Undergraduate FENV - Undergraduate Geoffrey Poitras Michael Favere-Marchesi Chris Shaw Lyn Bartram Susan O'Neill Daniel Laitsch Mark Collard

Jamie Scott Pablo Nepomnaschy Julian Christians Daniel Leznoff

Bonnie Gray Kay Wiese Holly Andersen Steeve Mongrain Gaelle Planchenault Michael Parent Peter Tingling*

Tracy Brennand Julian Somers Erika Plettner John Stockie Nancy Forde lyn@sfu.ca sao@sfu.ca dlaitsch@sfu.ca mcollard@sfu.ca jkscott@sfu.ca pablo_nepomnaschy@sfu.ca julian_christians@sfu.ca dleznoff@sfu.ca bonnie_gray@sfu.ca wiese@sfu.ca handerse@sfu.ca steeve_mongrain@sfu.ca gplanche@sfu.ca mparent@sfu.ca tingling@sfu.ca tabrenna@sfu.ca jsomers@sfu.ca plettner@sfu.ca stockie@math.sfu.ca nforde@sfu.ca

poitras@sfu.ca

favere@sfu.ca

shaw@sfu.ca

Harman Batishharman_batish@sfu.ca1 year31-May-2019Ridhi Dangirdangi@sfu.ca1 year31-May-2019Srishti Bhallasrishtib@sfu.ca1 year31-May-2019Jackson Freed.4 Tm[(r)0.8.4 (U)-2.8 (nde)2.5 (r)2.7(g)-9.6 (r)2.7(a)-1.6 (dua)-1.6 (t)3.6 (e)]JETEMC /P &MCID 981 BDC BT

v8af\$/la

31-May-2020 31-May-2021

31-May-2021

31-May-2021 31-May-2020

31-May-2019 31-May-2021

31-May-2021

31-May-2019

31-May-2020

31-May-2019

31-May-2020

31-May-2019

31-May-2019 31-May-2019

31-May-2019

31-May-2021 31-May-2020

31-May-2021 31-May-2020

31-May-2021 31-May-2020

31-May-2020

31-May-2021

31-May-2021

31-May-2020

31-May-2021 31-May-2019

3 years

Shuna Ho	shu_ham_ho@sfu.ca	1 year	31-May-2019
Sarah Lord Ferguson	stl10@sfu.ca	1 year	31-May-2019
Jaskarn Randhawa	jaskarnr@sfu.ca	1 year	31-May-2019
Rumneek Johal	rumneekj@sfu.ca	1 year	31-May-2019
Kau'l Keliipio	keliipio@sfu.ca	1 year	31-May-2019
Susan Luu	shluu@sfu.ca	1 year	31-May-2019
Camelia TaT8.04 -0 0a0.4 (ak.5 2@	P)-ETEI-6.6 (IC /P AMCID 1107 BDC BT-0.005 Tc 8	.04 -0 0 .04 -0 0 8	.04 289.2 1 8 .44 Tm

Senate Committee Structure

Committee positions may be elected by Senate, by respective Faculties, or jointly by all faculty members For details please check terms of reference for each committee.

				1
SENA				
	SEINA			
				J

Formal Governance

University Act of British Columbia

Covers SFU, UVIC and UNBC It also covers UBC with expanded Board, 2 Senates and a Council of Senates It also covers 5 new "special purpose teaching universities"

Board of Governors – Chair – Ms. Julia Kim

Senate – Chair – President Andrew Petter

Chancellor is the Chair of Convocation - Ms. Anne Giardini

Convocation is the body of all graduates of SFU. Convocation elects four